Emmylou Harris – Evangeline – Music Monday #10


Welcome to the 10th post in my Music Monday series!

Today’s album is a very special one as it’s actually the album that I named my record player after because it was the first album I played on her, it’s Emmylou Harris’ 1981 album ‘Evangeline’.

I’ve already done a Music Monday post about Emmylou Harris so to avoid repeating myself if you’d like to find out more about her please click here to read my post about her best songs!

The album Evangeline was released in 1981 and consists of mostly left over material from other albums. The album got quite mixed reviews from critics but did well commercially earning a gold selling classification in under a year.

The album isn’t actually available in CD format by itself but you can buy the full album in a collection entitled Emmylou Harris Original Album Series Vol.2 or you can download it on iTunes for £7.90, and of course you can always hunt the album down on Vinyl, they have quite a selection on MusicStack.com which you can view by clicking here!*

I love Evangeline it’s definitely one of my absolute favourite Emmylou Harris albums!

Let’s take a look at the track list!

Side 1:

  • I Don’t Have To Crawl
  • How High The Moon (originally by Nancy Hamilton)
  • Spanish Johnny with Waylon Jennings
  • Bad Moon Rising (originally by John Fogerty)
  • Evangeline with harmonies by Dolly Parton & Linda Ronstadt

Side 2:

  • Hot Burrito #2
  • Millworker (originally by James Taylor)
  • Oh Atlanta
  • Mr Sandman (originally by Pat Ballard)
  • Ashes By Now.

My favourite tracks on this album are Evangeline, Spanish Johnny, Bad Moon Rising, Millworker and Mr Sandman. They’re the songs that I always have a good sing along too! 🙂

It’s generally a brilliant album though and I highly recommend it to anyone who hasn’t heard it!

Like I said before this is the album I named my record player after, if you’d like to find out more about  my record player, my record collection and just generally what Music Monday is all about then please click here!

Thank you so much for reading I hope you enjoyed this post, if you did be sure to come back next week to see which album I’ll be talking about then!

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this album, tell me in the comments below, on Twitter @MissCharlotteEm or on any of my other social media sites which you can find by clicking here!

Charlotte xo

**I’m not sponsored by MusicStack.com it’s just the site I use to buy all my records from that’s why I linked it.